IRATA International has a formal training and certification scheme, and grading structure and all IRATA International members are obliged to use this scheme. Rope access technicians are grouped into three technical grades, depending upon their experience and level of assessment as set out in the IRATA International publication Training, Assessment and Certification Scheme (TACS).

The three technical grades are:

Level 1 

This is a rope access technician who is able to perform a specified range of rope access tasks under the supervision of a Level 3.

Level 2 

This is an experienced rope access technician who has Level 1 skills plus more complex rigging, rescue and rope access skills.

Level 3 

This is a rope access technician who is capable of complete responsibility for rope access safety in work projects; is able to demonstrate the skills and knowledge required of Levels 1 and 2; is conversant with relevant work techniques and legislation; has an extensive knowledge of advanced rigging and rescue techniques; holds an appropriate and current first aid certificate and has knowledge of the IRATA training, assessment and certification scheme


For more information please look at